About Us

change familyWelcome to The Gaggle of Girls’ Year of Living Change-erously blog! Left to right are Hufflepuff, The Chosen One, me, Gryffindor, and Ravenclaw.

We are currently a Mormon family of 4 – I’m a divorced mom of three, I work part-time as a paralegal, and spend the rest of my time with my 3 daughters. I love to bake, cook, and make fun lunches. We are all gluten-free. We live in the town in which I grew up, and share the town with my mom & stepdad, my dad & step-mother, and one of my step-brothers, his wife, and two daughters (I have a younger brother and 3 older step-brothers, all married). The girls’ father also lives in our town, and the younger two stay with him for a couple hours 2 nights a week, and stay overnight one night a week. We have a large extended family in the area, and often have family get-togethers.

We currently live in a very small, purple house with our cat in a small coastal town North of Boston with our cat. Our biggest change is that I got engaged in April of 2013 during a family trip to Orlando, and we’ll be moving into a normal-sized house (in our town) once we get married and become a family of 5. We know there will be many other changes during the year, and I wanted to chronicle them.

My oldest, Hufflepuff, is 15 and in 10th grade at the local high school. She is very outgoing, and has a bunch of friends who come in and out of our house a lot. She has a language-based learning disability (not dyslexia, but similar), and is very bright. She now identifies as UU rather than Mormon, but she has to follow Mormon guidelines while living in our home, and she goes to our Mormon church twice a month. She isn’t interested in visiting with her father right now, so she’s with me full time, other than the occasional nights with a friend or with my parents.

My middlest daughter, Gryffindor, is 13, in 8th grade at the local charter school. She is an extreme introvert, and does much better in small groups than large ones. She has some quirks, loves baking & penguins, and has some unusual hobbies (Harry Potter, Pokémon, and My Little Pony, to name a few), and has recently become a vegetarian. She is young for her age in many ways (knowing the difference between fantasy and reality, for example), but is very bright and gifted in school. She’s also very distractible, and that’s part of doing best in small groups. She has a major life plan, which includes going to BYU Hawaii to study Marine Biology, then going from there to study penguins.

My youngest, Ravenclaw, is 10 and in 4th grade, and in addition to being gluten-free, she is also allergic to berries. She is an extreme extrovert, always happiest when she’s with her friends. She’s constantly needing new challenges at school, and may just be the smartest of the three. She doesn’t like being the youngest and the smallest, though her sisters love to point that out. She’s happy in her current school (grades 4-6), but doesn’t love it the way she loved her K-1 and 2-3 schools. She will switch to the charter school next fall because there are so many advantages to that school, one of which is avoiding the regular middle school. One concern is that the charter school might be too small for her as an extrovert. She can still visit with her other friends, though.

My fiancé, The Chosen One, is wonderful, supportive, quirky, and is very different from me in some ways, and very similar in others. It’s a good mix. He’s never been married, never had kids, and is an only child, so no nieces/nephews, either. He, like Gryffindor and Ravenclaw, loves Harry Potter, and that’s helped their bond. He has other health issues other than living gluten-free, but we do share that dietary restriction, which helps. He is not Mormon, though he supports the rest of us in our beliefs. He’s come to Ravenclaw’s baptism, and comes to all the parties.